Entries for December 2012

As I was driving along the Tuscan highway a couple of days ago, the white mountains came into view. Not a ski resort (although there are many in Italy) but the quarries where white marble has been excavated since the 2nd century BC. The area is Tuscany and the provinces are Massa and Carrara. You know the marble and the mountains better than you might imagine. Can you picture how white the perfectly carved marble of Michelangelo’s David is? Or his Bacchus? How about the Pieta in the V...

[Read More...]

26 December 2012 is La Festa di Santo Stefano (St. Stephen's Day) in Italy, which marks the announcement of the birth of Jesus and the arrival of the Three Wise Men. It also means all of the stores and most of the restaurants are closed and the streets are pretty empty. A perfect day to arrive in Florence, exhausted and needing to catch up on sleep. I arrived around noon, checked into Hotel Villa Fiesole and then walked uphill to the center of town. Fiesole is a small hillside town with specta...

[Read More...]

            It is Christmas Day and I leave for Italy in a few hours. I am going by myself but I will not be alone. The spirits of the Italian Renaissance masters that I have been writing about and studying for years will surely be with me. Definition of RENAISSANCE according to Merriam-Webster Dictionary a : the transitional movement in Europe between medieval and modern times beginning in the 14th century in Italy, lasting into the 17th century, and marked by ...

[Read More...]

In From Point A to Point B, Writing and Rock Climbing, Part One, my theory that writing and rock climbing are similar was mostly proven. Here, in Part Two, I examine writing and climbing terms that compliment each other. The climbing definition is listed first, followed by the writing definition.  Enjoy, and when you’re done, get back to writing or climbing! Approach  The path to the beginning of a climb. The path to the start of writing a novel. Beta Advice on how to succ...

[Read More...]

            I started writing when I was eight years old. I first began indoor rock climbing when I was in my twenties. Loving the indoor wall, I decided to try it outdoors. While in Maine, I went to Acadia National Park, hired a guide and set off to expand my love of climbing. Except, it didn’t turn out that way. I was petrified outside and, as a result, I hung up my climbing shoes and carabineers and didn’t climb again until about eight months ago. It ...

[Read More...]

joanne lewis

When Joanne Lewis is not practicing law, she is writing. She pens murder mysteries, historical fiction and historical fantasy books and is the author of several award-winning novels. As an author, she hopes to entertain, to educate, and perhaps to enlighten. As an attorney, she is most proud of her work as an assistant state attorney and as a guardian ad litem representing the best interests of children.

Her books are available on Kindle, as paperbacks, and as audio books.

Her latest release is Bee King, a historical novel that is about the first person in the United States diagnosed with Alzheimer’s Disease, and takes place from the start of the Civil War until 1910. Just like the people who inhabited Five Points in lower Manhattan during the 1800s and the turn of the century, Bee King traverses the pentagonal streets where abolitionists battled copperheads, immigrants clashed among social, religious and political strife, and doctors and psychologists strained to help patients. Told in Five Points (sections), Bee King is dramatized through conventional literary devices as well as through newspaper articles, a manifesto, and other non-traditional tools.

The Forbidden trilogy consists of the novels: Forbidden Room, Forbidden Night, and Forbidden Horses. Forbidden Room is her best-selling novel.

In Forbidden Room, the first book in the Forbidden trilogy, new attorney Michael Tucker has few clients, yearns to be like his famous grandmother and cannot afford to move out of his parents' home. Sara Goldstein is an heiress accused of killing her uncle. When Sara hires Michael, he gets the chance to defend an innocent person, a beautiful lover and notoriety like his grandmother. But is it more than he asked for? Is Sara innocent or is she a murderer?

Forbidden Night, the second book in the Forbidden trilogy, delves further into Michael and Sara’s complicated relationship, as well as into Soldier Boy’s psyche, into their family histories, and into the creation of the carousel horses. The question posed in Forbidden Room, the first book of the Forbidden trilogy—Is Sara innocent or is she a murderer—is answered.

Forbidden Horses, the final book in the Forbidden trilogy, travels to the eighteenth century and takes place in Austria to reveal the troubled history of the creation of the carousel horses.

Michelangelo & Me is a series of five novellas in the genre of historical fantasy.

In the first book of the series, Michelangelo & the Morgue, seventeen-year-old Michelangelo defies religious and political powers in order to capture a serial killer who is murdering the artists of Florence. In Sleeping Cupid, the second book, Michelangelo’s believed-to-be lost statue narrates his journey from fifteenth century Florence, Italy until the present day where he lives in an attic in a sleepy Florida town. Future books in the anthology include Space Between, School of the World and Michelangelo & Me.

The Lantern is a historical novel about a modern-day woman's search to find a girl from 15th century Florence, Italy who dared to enter the competition to build the lantern on top of Brunelleschi's dome. Across time and space, three lives collide as they battle abuse, disease, fear and prejudice in pursuit of their dreams. Along the way, they intersect with some of the most famous figures of the Renaissance including members of the Medici, Filippo Brunelleschi, Donatello and a young Michelangelo.

Wicked Good, a different kind of love story, begins in Bangor, Maine. Fifteen-year-old Rory is not defined by his diagnoses of Asperger's syndrome and Bipolar Disorder and lives life to the fullest. Archer, his adoptive mother, is Rory's biggest fan. Rory searches for his birth parents to find out why he is the way he is. He discovers his roots in Salem, Massachusetts where the Salem Witch Trials had occurred, and in Gloucester, Massachusetts where fishermen went down with the Andrea Gail during the Perfect Storm. He also learns his true roots are closest to his home in Bangor. As Rory discovers truths about himself, Archer learns about herself too.

Make Your Own Luck is the unforgettable and moving novel of Remy Summer Woods, a young attorney who refuses to believe thirteen-year-old Bonita Pickney killed her father, Patrick Pickney. Remy risks her relationship with her own father as well as her life to prove Bonita's innocence. Along with learning what happened the night Patrick was murdered, Remy discovers hard truths about her family and herself.

Purchase Books by
Joanne Lewis

My Blog